SHOT LIST

To me, the shot list is one of the most important aspects of pre-production. If it’s planned and done right, it can make a film made by amateurs have a professional look, and is key in understanding what’s going on in a film and the ideas/emotions you’re trying to convey. The shot list can be planned with shot lists however, I prefer writing rather than drawing and so I take to my notepads.

NOTE BOOK 2And so with a rough shot list done, I waited a couple of days until I went back to it for a second look. This way I had given myself time for new ideas for creative shots to come to my head and/or better ways to communicate ideas. After a few adjustments I went on to typing the final shot list that I will take with me on set with I’m shooting. This, you can see below.
notebooksAnd so with this, I hope, I will make fast, efficient and good quality film-making. Having this as a reference helps me understand where I will need to be when filming, why I need to be there and for what reason/outcome. It also acts as a check-list so I know what needs to be done and in what order. We’ll see how useful using something like this is on set since this is the first time I’ve done something like this, hopefully all will be fine!

Leave a Reply

