A STUDY OF SIMILAR PRODUCTS AND THEIR INSPIRATION

A range of different ideas had been bounced around between my group but they lacked the ability to excite me or get me really determined get production underway as soon as possible. That is until we came about shooting something in a cinema. I tend to think of ideas really cinematically and so the location really inspired me since cinemas often present a nice atmosphere and potential for greatly composed shots, but this way of thinking was drawn to me by my own personal experience and seeing other media products such as films and music videos shoot in a similar location.

AAF1

Alien Ant Farm, an American alternative rock band that formed in Moreno Valley, California, United States, in 1995, featured their music video for “Movies” entirely in a cinema. The piece features the band jumping into the cinema’s screen and becoming part of the movie they were once watching but a large amount of the footage portrays the audience amongst the seating area, and this is similar to a lot of the shots we have in mind for our own short film. The lighting and some of the angles was something I admired and hope to replicate elements from in my film. The way the light from the screen appears to illuminate the crowd is something I admire and really adds to the scene’s atmosphere. The close-up on the the left inspired me to plan a similar shot where the camera focuses on an actor in the foreground who’s positioned on one of the horizontal thirds whereas the rest of the audience remain blurred and unfocused to form the background.AAF2I’ve been a huge fan of Wes Craven’s work since before I began even thinking about making my own movies. His film, “A Nightmare On Elm Street” was one of my favourites films for its consistent cinematic, trapped and disgusting atmosphere as Freddy torments Nancy Thompson (played by Heather Langerkamp) in this 80s horror classic. However, the 90s welcomed a different direction for Craven as he creates a new horror series concerning Ghostface and him tormenting a small American community. The second film in his series, “Scream 2”, features an iconic and haunting first scene in a cinema where Jada Pinkett Smith’s character get killed in front of the entire audience.

The story of this first scene is very clever with its twists and turns and the manipulation of light featured is something to be admired. It’s bright, it shows the characters clearly but yet is dark enough to portray a believable cinema scene. This is something I’d like to include in my own work.

In my research I managed to find myself a playlist of film clips that are set in a cinema or a theatre which really helped for me to see a variety of different tones and directions.

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?annotation_id=annotation_307096&feature=iv&list=PL6F8603ED8741C127&src_vid=fnTckzsYgg0

I also analysed The Butterfly Effect, directed by Eric Bress J. Mackye Gruber, and Martin Scorsese’s Taxi Driver starring Robert De Niro.

 

Leave a Reply

