DIRECTING ACTORS: PRACTICAL EXERCISE

IMG_9819

In order to prepare myself to shooting my film, I captured a series of photographs experimenting with lighting. I confined to the conventions of the film noir genre and directed my subject to pose in a number of ways. The original photos can be seen below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Below is a range of screenshots I captured whilst editing my pieces. By looking at these you can understand my work in PhotoShop and how I created my final photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also took a range of photos of passing cars in order to form the background for my images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_9829 2

Here are examples of my final pieces. Experimenting with three-point lighting and my direction of the subject really helped by get a range of “noir” pieces.

IMG_9846

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_9896 no bg black n white 2

IMG_9902

IMG_9905

IMG_9912 cropI think the shoot was successful in that I exercised by cinematography skills, lighting skills and directional skills in preparation for my short film, Screen Three.

Leave a Reply

